Vegan Broccoli Pesto Calzone

Hi friends!  Here is the moment you’ve all been waiting for.  The Vegan Broccoli Pesto Calzone recipe was taken from here VegWeb-BPC.  I wish I could take credit for it, but I was just trying someone else’s recipe.  But dang, was it good!  It was so good!

Vegan Broccoli Pesto Calzone

Vegan Broccoli Pesto Calzone

The recipe calls for homemade pizza dough.  I have made my own pizza dough in the past, but this time I just bought Pillsbury pizza crust.  It had no animal products and rolls out so easy!  Also I steamed the broccoli (and my added cauliflower) a little too long.  Remember, crisp veggies are the best kind.  You definitely don’t need to steam more than a few minutes.  They really just need a quick flash steam or blanch.  (I don’t know if flash steaming is an actual cooking term, I simply call it “flashing”.  Ahh the multiple meanings of the word.  I mean it in the cooking sense.)  Otherwise, these were pretty amazing.  The cornmeal on the outside gives it a great taste and crispy-ness.  My husband gave it a 8.5-9 out of 10.  Sweet!  So I hope you get a chance to try the recipe and tell me what you think.

By the way, my husband rated the vegan chocolate chip cookies (below) and gave them an 8/10.  I served them to my in-laws while they were in town and they seemed to like them too!

These are my blueberry cornmeal pancakes.  They also have been a big hit!  My friend Nikki says they’re the best vegan pancakes she’s ever had (she’s not a vegan).  Haha!  Well, she said they were so good she would have never guessed there were no eggs or milk in them.  She wasn’t sure if that was an insult to a vegan-should they taste specifically different?  No way!  As long as she thinks they are delicious, I’m happy with that.  This recipe was also taken from VegWeb-BCP.  Enjoy!

stack of vegan pancakes

stack of vegan pancakes

Vegan blueberry cornmeal pancake

Vegan blueberry cornmeal pancake

Just something to keep you comin’ back for more. Mmmmm.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

